Garbage Out! LDP Helped Clean the Coast.

By Ou, Ting-Cun, LDP Cycle 5, Junior, Dept. of Bio-Industry Communication and Development

In the afternoon of October 27th, the sun was warm and glaring. On the beach of Wazihwei, Bali, people exclaimed on and off: “I’ve uncovered an underwear! Hahaha!” “I’ve found a large piece of plastic! You see!” “I just picked up….” They were a group of volunteers coming to clean the beach, including employees from the US-based cooperation GE, children from Reindeer Children Home and Mu-Xiang Protectory, along with students from NTU Leadership Development Program. This day, they gathered together to join the one-day voluntary experience activity.

Learning through Preparing

This activity was the Winter Volunteer Day 2012 hosted by GE cooperation, focusing on two themes, “Caring for the Disadvantaged Children” and “Keeping Up Clean Water & Environments”. Students from NTU LDP and GE volunteers (abbreviated as GEV) led the children from Taoyuan Reindeer Children Home and Mu-Xiang Protectory to visit Bali Refuse Incineration Plant and participate in the coast cleaning activity at Wazihwei, Bali.

Though the activity looked simple, it had deep meaning behind the scenes. Speaking of costal cleanup, it was not merely simple acts of picking up garbage, yet much knowledge was hidden. According to the statistics of the International Coastal Cleanup, which originated from the US early in 1986, volunteers from all over the world have accumulated up to more than 8’000’000 people and have cleaned up 65’000 tons of garbage in total. Each cleanup must be documented, listing the weight and categories of garbage in the cleaning activity as well as the ecological environment observed on the coast. With such documentation, it is possible to find the impact of different garbage and further trace the source of garbage making and therefore improvement can be made. Based on above-mentioned goals, the pre-cleanup education becomes extremely important.

During the preparation, volunteers from Society of Wilderness were specially invited to give a lesson to the LDP students and GEV. They even provided cleanup promotion teaching materials, including brochures and a teaching aid of simulated seabird stomach. Moreover, they guided everyone on how to educate the public. All in all, those “adult students” would be responsible for teaching nursery school children and other participating citizens the right way to clean the coast!

Owning to the fact that every LDP student would take the responsibility of leading a team and conducting the pre-activity education, everyone was anxious and uneasy. Fortunately, GEV had two pre-activity discussions with them, conducted a complete rehearsal, helped students to get a better hand on the activity and deepened the anticipation of a smooth and successful day.

Getting to Know the Theme of the Day: Garbage

On the day of the activity, all the people gathered in front of Bali Refuse Incineration Plant. Children from the protectory looked somehow shy on account of strange encounters, but anticipating expression could still be found on their faces. Everyone had put on a volunteer T-shirt and was ready to learn and serve with enthusiasm and sincerity.

The observation and learning at the plant that followed led them to witness the creativity and delicacy of resource recycling. For instance, the dolls made of recycled bouquet wrapping paper and egg shells or light ornaments cut from transparent PET bottles. Each work amazed the participants with the fact that dumped garbage could be reused in such practical and beautiful ways.

Not to mention the nine-story tall garbage storage pit, and the massive junkyard crane machine! Everyone was astonished when seeing such a vast amount of garbage and could not help pondering that if everyone could make a small effort in reducing his or her own disposals, it would be of great help in the garbage reduction!

“I am bound to keep the coast clean!”

After the observation visit, Chen, Tsung-Hao from NTU LDP briefed the coastal cleanup activity to all participants, whom, in the afternoon, proceeded to Wazihwei beach and could not wait to start the cleaning mission.

As the NTU LDP students made the final reminder and introduction before the actual cleanup, the game of seabird stomach simulation, in which everyone literally touched and felt the garbage that had been left on the beach and swallowed by seabirds, took place. It successfully built a strong sense of mission in all the participants.

The garbage along the coastline was proven of huge quantity as they looked around and began cleaning up. Some small garbage mixed with sand and dirt required good eyesight to pick up while some big ones already covered with sand and dirt needed much endeavor to pull out. Although the sea waves were just patting nearby and cute little crabs kept showing up on the beach, no one was distracted; instead, they worked seriously hard. Some children went all out trying to pull out huge garbage from the sand, yet it was too difficult for them. Ignoring the persuasion of giving up, they said, “I want to make the beach cleaner; I am bound to clear the garbage!”

The short 30-minute garbage hunt ended up as a shockingly heavy harvest: four large bags of garbage and considerable amount of recyclable items, leaving documents full of gratifying and warning records.

The feedback time in the end was exceptionally bustling. With the host of NTU students, children from the protector enthusiastically shared the unusual garbage they picked up, such as a lighter, a big rug or a deserted canvas that was too heavy to lift up. Adult students also shared their thoughts on the whole-day event; some felt it had been far from an ordinary outdoor teaching and learning activity, and serving voluntarily to clean the coast was unforgettable.

Everyone looked happy even after such a long day of walking in unbearable sand-filled shoes, fatiguing under the hot sun as well as dealing with the dirty and heavy garbage. Besides being loaded with great gifts of satisfaction in return both mentally and physically, they also outgrew themselves and evolved!

NTU Highlights Issue 1117

只要美麗,不要垃圾!領導學程淨灘去

文/領導學程第五屆 生傳三 歐亭村

10月27日這天下午,陽光溫暖而耀眼,在八里挖仔尾海灘上傳出陣陣驚呼的聲音:「我撿到一條小內褲!哈哈哈哈!」,「我撿到一塊超大的塑膠!你們看!」,「我撿到……」他們是一群淨灘的志工,成員包括美商奇異(GE)公司的員工、藍迪兒童之家、睦祥育幼院的院童、臺大領導學程的同學。他們這天聚在一起進行一日志工體驗活動。

行前準備,處處是學問

這次活動是由GE公司主辦的2012第四季志工日,活動主軸環繞在”關懷弱勢兒童”與”環保與珍惜水資源”兩大主題。領導學程的同學與GE志工(GE Volunteers,簡稱GEV)引領了桃園藍迪兒童之家和睦祥育幼院兩間的院童進行八里焚化廠的參訪與八里挖仔尾海灘的淨灘活動。

活動本身看似簡單,背後卻隱藏著深厚的意義。以淨灘為例,淨灘並非僅限於簡單的撿垃圾運動,而是藏著許多大學問。國際淨灘行動(International Coastal Cleanup,簡稱ICC)最早自1986年起源於美國,根據ICC的統計,全世界參與志工共累計八百多萬名,清出了總計6.5萬公噸的垃圾,而每場淨灘都必須整理出記錄,記錄當次撿拾活動中整理出的垃圾重量和類型,還包含在海灘上觀察到的生態狀況。用意在於透過記錄資料,可以發現不同垃圾對於海灘造成的影響,進而追溯到垃圾製造的源頭進行改善要求。基於上述目的,進入海灘前的淨灘教育顯得格外重要。

在本次行前籌備期間,特別請來荒野保護協會的志工來為領導學程的同學與GE志工上課,甚至提供了淨灘推廣教材,包括淨灘簡介和海鳥胃等教具,更指導大家如何轉而教育社會大眾,畢竟當天所有的「大朋友」可是要負責教會院童及其他參與的民眾正確的淨灘方式呢!

由於每位領導學程的同學身負帶隊和行前教育的重責大任,各各心情充滿了緊張與不安。所幸在活動前夕,GE志工活動的規畫人與同學們進行了兩次行前討論,把活動流程完整地預演了一遍,提高了同學對於活動的掌握度,也加深了活動順利成行的期盼。

認識體驗主題:「垃圾」

活動當天,各方人馬相約在八里垃圾焚化廠集合,育幼院的孩子因陌生的人事物看起來有些靦腆,不過感受得到他們對活動的期待。現場無論大人或孩都穿著志工T-恤,有的是滿載的熱心與誠意。

當天上午在垃圾焚化廠的觀摩學習,一行人見識到了資源回收的創意和巧思,例如:用回收的花束包裝紙和雞蛋殼做的人偶娃娃,以及用透明保特瓶剪裁出的美麗的燈飾。每樣作品都令眾人驚呼連連,發現原來被丟棄的垃圾還可以有如此既實際又美觀的用途。

除此之外,學童們亦親眼看到九層樓高的垃圾儲坑,以及重量級的「夾娃娃機」─垃圾吊車!所有人在看現場如此龐大的垃圾量,都驚訝不已,更不禁反思,倘若每個人都盡一點點微薄的心力,從此降低由自己所產生的垃圾數量,就能助垃圾減量一臂之力!

我要讓這片沙灘更乾淨

在參觀行程結束後,領導學程的陳琮皓同學為所有人做淨灘活動的簡報。下午一行人就浩浩蕩蕩的到了挖仔尾海灘,迫不及待展開淨灘任務。

在開始淨灘之前,由領導學程的同學們再對孩子們做一次淨灘的介紹和細節叮嚀,透過海鳥胃遊戲,所有人探手摸索出被人們遺留在海灘而遭海鳥等動物吃下肚的垃圾,建立了對於活動的強烈使命感,接著套上手套,拿起夾子,揹起麻布袋,開始淨灘。

放眼望去,沙灘上的垃圾還真是不少,有的小垃圾和沙土混在一起,挑出來需要好眼力;有的大型垃圾已經被沙土壓蓋住,要拉出來須費一番心力。雖然海浪就在不遠處拍打,沙灘上還有可愛的小螃蟹探頭探腦,但大家都沒有分心,很認真的埋著頭撿拾垃圾,有些孩子很努力的想從沙中拔出超大型的垃圾,可是實在太困難了,勸他們作罷,孩子卻說:「可是我想要讓沙灘更乾淨,我一定要把垃圾清乾淨!」。雖然三十分鐘的時間不算長,卻有了令人意外的「大豐收」,這次的淨灘成果是滿滿四大袋垃圾和許多資源回收物,畫滿正字記號的記錄表是令人欣慰而且值得警惕的成績單,沙灘確實非常需要每個人用心的維護。

結尾的回饋時間熱鬧非凡,在臺大同學的主持下,育幼院的院童很熱烈地分享撿拾到的特別垃圾,有人撿到了打火機,有人撿到大地毯,還有人撿到重得拿不起來的廢棄帆布。大朋友也分享了一整天下來的心情,有人覺得今天的活動和平常的校外教學很不一樣,做志工來淨灘是一次很難忘的學習體驗。雖然鞋子進沙很難受,而在陽光下工作很疲累,外加垃圾又髒又重,但最後的大合照裡每張臉都是燦爛的笑靨,每個人在這趟活動都收穫滿載,身心感到充實,更是另一次的成長經驗!

臺大校訊1117期