Not Just About Luck: LDP Summits Mt. Nanhu.

By Peng, Hsiang-Ling, LDP Cycle 4. Senior, Dept of Foreign Languages & Literatures

LDP students and teacher at East Peak, Mt. Nanhu. (July 7, 2012)

Gather and Launch

At 5 a.m. on July 3, 2012, while the whole campus of NTU was quiet with only a few of occasional chirping bugs and birds, in front of the Ming-Da Building gathered dozens of people, all dressed up, with 20kg backpacks and gears aside the feet. From this day to July 12, led by Prof. Chu Shi-Wei, students of the Team Learning & Outdoor Leadership class were going on a ten-day task of ascending Mt. Nanhu (to the elevation of 3742m), one of the highest mountains in Taiwan. Throughout this journey, they must cope with not only the precarious environment, but also physical and mental stress. The key strength that would carry them to the end of the journey was not just stamina and tenacity, but the support and sharing from within the team.

Listen to the Mountain Speaks

To many students, these ten days were rare moments they got to spend in nature. But it was no easy matter to enter that mystic realm. In addition to preparing the equipment and planning the itinerary, it also demanded them to step out of their comfort zone and train them both physically and mentally. Before heading to Mt. Nanhu, each of them must complete a running training of more than 100km and a two-day test at the Songluo Lake, Yilan, where muddy paths and steep cliffs had provided a picture on the difficulty of Mt. Nanhu, as well as reminded them the smallness of human being before the mountains.

However, mountains did not just test the students’ strength and will, it also showed the tender and beautiful side of nature. The trail through the woods might be muddy, yet when looking up, patches of green, brown, yellow and red wove into a long tapestry. Birds and bugs formed a beautiful orchestra while flowers and grasses became unique ballerinas. Cobwebs between the tree trunks were swinging in the wind. Hails, which were a pain in the butt a second before, turned into eye-flattering shining pearls rolling in the bushes.

Besides sightseeing, all students were in charge of different class themes to teach the rest of the group. Hence, students had had their oral-expression trained and their ideas shared as well as being inspired. Apart from the mountain whisper, they also heard the words from partners sitting next to them and learnt to work as a team.

Watch us Summit

Being away from the friendly environment, fear and uneasiness somewhat exited. The uncertainty also rose within the students as ten-day mountaineering was indeed arduous. Nevertheless, trekking and summiting had never been an one-man task. Via the “buddy system”, in which students were divided into teams of two or three, they were able to look after one another, and solve the problems encountered throughout both the pre-trekking and the trekking stages. Even though it was uncertain if all students could reach the summit due to differences in physical and mental conditions, everyone vowed before the departure: We will be on top together.

In the end, everyone summited the main peak of the Mt. Nanhu, enjoying the view of the morning sun that sparkled up the contented faces and photo takings. The tears of fear for the cliffs and the pain in the swollen ankles due to long-walking hours were gone, as the comfort zone had been surpassed and more ordeals and pains could be endured. Furthermore, they learned to support one another and get through obstacles together. The smile of victory was built upon communication and coordination among teammates. On the way up to the peak, students had to make decisions on their own. When being lost or a debate on whether they should continue moving took place, the whole team had to stop to decide. Once the consensus was reached, they would set off again. The decision-making process kept taking place throughout the journey. There was this one time when they had to decide to go on a bit more or to stop. Though it was still early, the trek planned might lead the students to the next stop only when it turned dusk. Some in the group were already exhausted while some strongly suggested keep going. At first, everyone seemed to be interested in moving on, wanting to challenge the seemingly endless mountain path. However, the counselors expressed concerns over the physically discomfort ones, resulting reconsideration. In the end, the students turned around and headed back to the previous stop.

Summiting could never be done by just one single person. Instead, it required collaborative team efforts to make it as safe and smooth as possible. In the mountain, every decision made was subject to affect the safety and condition of each team member. If a team had acted without keeping the whole picture in mind, the consequences could be disastrous. Through this experience, the students also noticed that the voice of the majority sometimes stifled different views from the minority. It was thus important for a team to listen and show respect to what the weaker voice had to say.

Return with a Heart so Full

Ten days flew by fast. Six-month preparation turned, in the blink of an eye, into a fruitful reward. When the team once again stepped on the plain, a warm stream flowed upon their hearts. Their life and personalities seemed to be richer and deeper. The team formed a circle by the stream at the foot of the mountain and whispered their gratitude to the nature and to the buddies for their company and support. Everyone returned with a notebook full of records of the journey, the thoughts and the growth in both body and mind. Just like what Prof. Chu had said, “People are forgetful animals—they have to keep a record of what they have learned so that they can recall and reflect upon it in the future.”

Students had not turned into top leaders in a snap due to the journey. What the ten-day experience had brought them was allowing them to think more about their life, helping them to find directions to their very own future and hoping that someday their dreams would all come true.

NTU Hightlight Issue 1106

領導學程:登頂絕非偶然

文/領導學程第四屆 外文四  彭湘凌

走,集合出發

2012年7月3日,清晨五點,臺大校園內空蕩蕩的,偶有一兩聲蟲鳴鳥叫穿插。在這片寧靜之中,明達館前卻聚集了數十名穿著重裝的登山客,腳邊堆放著20公斤左右的大背包。從這天起至7月12日,臺大領導學程「團隊學習與戶外領導課程」的學生在本校朱士維老師的隨行之下,前往標高3,742,臺灣百岳中的南湖大山,進行為期十天的訓練課程。在這段旅程中,學生不僅要面對險惡的環境,亦要面對身心的壓力。而支撐學生到最後的並不僅是優異的體力與堅韌的心靈,團隊夥伴彼此的扶持,與互相分享更是學生最終能夠完成旅程的關鍵。

 

聽,山在說話

對於許多學生來說,這十天是難得與山林相處的時光。但是光要進入那神秘的領域,便不是一件簡單的事。除了外在裝備與行程安排,此趟旅程更強調學生跨出自身的舒適圈,鍛鍊自己。在登山之前,每位學生都須完成總共超過100公里的跑步訓練,與在宜蘭松羅湖進行為期兩天的試驗;泥濘的路徑,陡峭的岩壁讓學生感受到,接下來的南湖大山行程只會更困難。而在山的面前,人類是永遠如此渺小的。

 

山不僅帶給學生磨練,同時帶給同學大自然的美好。走在山林間,腳下一片泥濘。但抬頭向四周望下,卻是無止盡的綠、棕、黃、紅交錯,走在山林間,抬頭仰望是遮蔽天光的大樹。無數的鳥聲、蟲聲交織。在山林裡,一花一草似乎都變獨特了。掛在樹幹之間的蛛網,隨風搖盪。前一刻還在抱怨的冰雹,下一刻即化身為晶亮剔透的珍珠在樹叢中滾動著。

 

在欣賞風景之餘,每位同學都有認列課程,在這十天當中,經由課程的講授使同學們互相激發與學習,並練習口才。在山林之中,不僅聽到山的低語,更是由人與人的相處,學習到團隊的互動模式。

 

看,我們攻頂

脫離熟悉的平地,同學多少感到不安與害怕,再加上為期十天的登山行程難度頗高,對於是否能夠完成行程的不確定感也相對增高了不少。但登山從來都不是一個人的事情而已,經由夥伴(buddy)制度,將同學兩個或三人分在一組,互相關心對方的狀態,並一起合作面對不論是準備當中,或是在登山時所面對的困難。團隊之中,學生的身心狀況多有所差異,是不是每個人都能攻頂,實在是一個未知數。但同學們在出發之前便立下誓願:我們每個人都要上去。

 

最後如眾人所願,每個人都登上了南湖大山的主峰,迎著朝陽,相機聲不絕於耳,學生臉上掛著滿足的笑容。對於自己爬斷崖時,因害怕所落下的淚水,因長時間行走所摩擦紅腫的腳踝,都已拋在腦後。因為我們已經超越了舒適圈,對於陌生的磨難與痛苦已懂得忍受,並更懂得支持他人,一同跨越障礙。因此在勝利的笑容背後,也是由許多的團隊溝通、協調所堆砌而成。在登山途中,大部分的抉擇皆由同學自行決定,因此當碰到迷路或是繼續行走與否時,整隊人員便必須停留,達成共識以後再出發。這樣的決策不停地在旅途中上演,而最令人印象深刻之一便是有次決定是否再前行。那時天色雖尚早,但預估的行程可能會行走到傍晚時候。隊伍中有人疲憊不堪,有人力主前進,一開始,大家似乎都想要前進,希望挑戰那看似無止盡的山間小路。輔導員卻出聲提醒了有學生身體不適的狀況,這讓同學們重新考慮了前行的可能性,並最後決定折返。

 

攻頂並不是一個人可以完成的事情,而是須經由團隊中的成員互相關照,才能夠平安順利地進行。在山林之中,團隊所做的決定都牽動著每一位成員的安全,關係到每個人的狀況。如果在缺乏通盤考慮的情況之下,便有所動作,後果很有可能是不堪設想的。經由這一事件,也發現到在團隊之中,多數人的聲音時常會埋沒少數持不同看法的意見。如何將這些微弱的聲音挖掘出來,加以重視,便是一個團隊所需注重的。

 

返,滿載而歸

十天的時間過得很快,事前半年的準備,在轉瞬之間變化成了果實,當腳踏上平地的那一刻,心中有股暖流緩緩移動著,感覺人生又豐富了許多,層次又更深層。大家在山腳下的溪裡圍成一個圈,心中默念著對山的感激,並感謝山邊夥伴一路的相扶相持。每個人回程時身上都帶著一本筆記本,其中記載著這幾天在大自然中對人生的體悟與身心的成長,誠如朱老師所說:人,是健忘的動物。將所學到的加以記錄才能夠在未來加以回顧與複習。

 

回到平地之後,同學不是馬上變成一位頂尖的領導者,這十天九夜的行程帶給同學的是人生更進一步的思考,並幫助他們在未來的道路上,更能走出自己的方向,並期許終有一天能夠實現理想。

 

臺大校訊1106期