Lion Travel & Advanced Leadership Seminar: The Close Encounter of Taiwan Tourism Giant and NTU Students

By Liao Ying-Chi, LDP Cycle 3, senior, Dept. of Psychology

 Advanced Leadership Seminar has always been one of the most special courses by LDP, NTU. Via the mentor and small-class system, students are able to have in-depth interactions and discussions with the professors. In Advanced Leadership Seminar, Fall 2012, Prof. Wu Hsueh-Liang made special arrangements for Mr. Chen, the vice president of Lion Travel, to instruct NTU students, who are accustomed to the comfortable study environment on campus, to learn more about the tourism industry

We were amazed as we first met Mr. Chen. He has always been friendly to students, energetic like a college student himself and enthusiastic about just everything. Maybe because he is very experienced in university-industry cooperation, he always answers precisely to students’ questions. This time, the research project required us to design a creative and practical contest on tourism innovation.Though getting away from repeated daily routines is a common liking shared by many, and not to mention taking trips to exotic lands is always fascinating, planning and designing a contest on tourism was an unfamiliar task to us as we had spent most of our time on books and papers. In order to make the contest and the proposals within it practical and be in line with the current state of the industry, the three groups of us did an abundant research and review on tourism issues. After the brainstorms, we headed to the headquarters of Lion Travel in Nei-Hu, and had a further discussion with Mr. Chen. The headquarters of Lion Travel quite renewed our impression on conventional travel service offices which are rather small, crowded and chessboard-like. The office was instead open-spaced and graceful with various recreational materials provided in the recreational area, allowing the employees to fully relax themselves during their breaks. The meeting rooms were divided by glass walls, on which prints of markers could be found as creativity took place. Perhaps it was such working environment that Lion Travel is able to remain its leading position in the competitive industry.

Vice president Chen, his assistant Kathleen, Professor Wu and his wife were the judges at our presentations. The three groups went all out on their respective themes and proposals. The first group’s theme was “Zero-cost Travel x Taiwan Promotion.” By giving the example of the latest hot issue: san-tai-zi (the third prince) travelling around the world, they brought up a project idea via which creative thinkers could fulfill their dreams of traveling. “If a group of innovative travelers will help promote certain corporations, the corporations might as well patronize them for the tour in return.” The idea suggested the contest organizer act as a medium from which companies recruit talents and talents attract companies, resulting zero-cost travels and the beauty of Taiwan will additionally be promoted.

The second group focused on the 2017 Taipei Universiade, planning to create a wave of tourism business opportunities via the event. The Universiade, known as the “The Miniature Olympics,” is an athletic event second only to the Olympic Games. It is also going to be the most honorable athletic event held by Taiwan ever. To increase its topicality among students, to make use of its positive social effects and to make up the possible economic deficit, the second group’s project was “Taipei Universiade— Taiwan Travel Attraction Design Contest,” in which the contestants will choose a Universiade participating country and organize a three-day post-game trip around Taiwan for its athletes and staff. Through the contest, tourism-relevant talents can be discovered, whereas through the projects within, the local and regional vision will go global. Furthermore, a fad of travelling to and in Taiwan will be created.

The last group, on the other hand, noticed that many local cultures were on the brink of disappearing due to modernization. Hence, their contest proposal “Light Up Taiwan—Year 101 Unfolds Yesterday” ultimately aimed to preserve Taiwan stories by organizing the contest. They took the declined Taiwan El Dorado—Jin Gua Shi—for example. In the past, it was the Taiwan Ginza because of the gold-mining fever. Now, it is almost forgotten because of the decline of the industry. Culturally speaking, it is even about to disappear. If the contest proves effective in solving such issue, it may not only slow down our destruction to the environment and cultural heritages but also reverse our concept towards traditional tourism. A finer and more caring tourism product may thus be presented.

Concerning our somewhat primitive proposals, the vice president and the teacher nonetheless gave us a lot of positive feedbacks and encouragement, complimenting on our efforts. We felt extremely lucky and thankful for the vice president, Kathleen and the professor for their guidance and time. Regardless of the remarks on the three groups’ performances, we were glad to have gone out of our comfort zone once again to acquaint ourselves with unfamiliar industry. Perhaps none of us will enter the industry. Perhaps we won’t have another chance to explore the tourism industry. However, we have learned to show respect for an unfamiliar field and to modestly study what we were not privileged to before.

雄獅旅遊與進階領導專題: 臺灣旅遊業龍頭與臺大學生的特殊交流

文/ 領導學程第三屆 心理四 廖英棋

進階領導專題一直是臺大領導學程最特別的課程之一,透過Mentor制度與小班編制,修習專題的學生們能與教授做最深入的互動與討論。而這次的進階領導專題,吳學良教授很特別的安排了雄獅旅遊公司的陳瑞倫副總來跟學生們作指導,希望可以讓安逸於校園生活的臺大學生們,對旅遊產業有更多的認識。

第一次看到陳副總,著實讓大家驚艷了一翻。副總跟學生們們相處總是和藹可親,有著如大學生般充沛的活力,對任何事情都充滿熱忱;也許是因為有多次產學合作的經驗,對於學生提的問題他總是能給予最切要的回應。而這一次的合作內容,是希望專題的學生們能以小組的形式,盡量發揮創意又不失可行性地對旅遊創新競賽做提案。

大家都喜歡旅遊,徜徉於日常生活之外,異地的風景總是特別引人。然而對於慣於沉浸書本之中的我們,如何規劃或設計以旅遊為主題的競賽,卻是十分的陌生。為了增加可行性與切合業界狀況,三組同學各自做了大量的研究與旅遊議題回顧,並在創意發想之後遠赴位於內湖瑞湖街的雄獅旅遊總公司,與副總做更細膩的討論。雄獅的總公司顛覆了我們對旅遊業的印象,有別於擁擠狹小、棋盤式的辦公室,雄獅總公司的空間設計開放大方,休閒區內擺設各式娛樂器材,讓員工在休息之間能完全放鬆;透明隔間的會議室內,玻璃牆面上充滿著麥克筆痕跡,創意想法的記錄與整理在此激盪發酵。也許就是因為有這樣的環境,讓雄獅能在競爭激烈的旅遊產業中能保持著龍頭的地位。

最後的成果發表,由陳副總、助理Kathleen小姐、以及吳教授賢伉儷擔任評審,三組同學盡力將各自的主題作最好的呈現。第一組的主題是「0元旅遊x行銷臺灣」,該組以之前引發話題的三太子遊世界為例,描述一個讓創意發想者能圓旅行之夢的構想,「若有一群人能夠幫助企業以創意行銷,企業將願意以金錢實現彼此的夢想」。由主辦單位擔任媒合平台,吸引企業突入並挖掘人才,希望可以藉由比賽開啟0元旅遊的風氣,行銷臺灣之美。

第二組著眼於2017年即將在臺北舉辦的世大運,希望可以藉由此事件帶動一波旅遊商機。世大運有「小奧運會」之稱,是層級僅次奧運的體育盛會,也將是臺灣舉辦過層級最高的賽事。為了增加學生間話題性,並有效利用無價之正向社會效應彌補資金之虧損,第二組主題「世大運在臺北-旅遊設計邀請賽」讓參賽者選定一個參賽國家,為他們設計比賽後的三天兩夜臺灣之旅。希望藉此篩選人才,培養參賽者與大眾之國際觀,並透過世大運造就一波臺灣旅遊熱潮。

最後一組有鑑於日前許多臺灣在地文化因現代化開發,正面臨消逝危機,故以「消失」為切入點,打著「照亮臺灣101-喚醒塵封的臺灣記憶」的主題,希望可以透過競賽保存下臺灣的故事。他們以沒落的黃金城-金瓜石為例,過去因淘金熱而蓬勃發展礦業的臺灣銀座,因產業落寞而被遠遠拋在後頭,正處於文化消失的邊緣。若競賽能有效解決議題,不只可減緩對環境與古蹟的破壞,更能扭轉傳統觀光路線的概念,重劃出細膩、具關懷力量的旅遊商品。

對於我們提出的提案,雖然仍有粗糙之處,副總與老師們還是給予我們許多正向的鼓勵與評價,並對我們的努力感到讚賞。為此,我們感到十分的幸運,十分感謝副總、助理與教授們這次的指導與陪伴。不論最後三組評比如何,很開心在這次的專題合作中,我們再度突破了舒適圈,與不熟悉的產業領域共舞。也許日後,我們之中將不會有人進入旅遊產業發揮所才,也不會有機會這麼認真探討旅遊產業的脈絡與架構。我們學到的,是面對不同領域的謙卑,虛心學習我們不曾接觸過的一切。